Favorite Things Lately, Volume 2

1 Cake at Cafe Sabarsky: I’ve already sung the praises of this cozy Austrian cafe inside the Neue Galerie on the Upper East Side–a lovely place to visit in winter. Here, the best part of the meal is always dessert. As a self-diagnosed dessert junkie, it helps that I can scout out my cake before I order it; whole cakes are displayed all around the dining room. The below hazelnut layer cake and pistachio-chocolate mousse cake were exactly what I needed on a cold, slushy, awful, just disgusting day. I believe my socks were soaked from walking around in the sleet, but while eating forkfuls of hazelnut and pistachio with freshly piped whipped cream, I didn’t even care.

photo 1

2. The permanent exhibit at Museum of the Moving Image: There’s a 6 minute movie of the best moments in cinematic history that plays on loop here, and, if you look closely, you’ll see a certain spark ignite in people’s eyes as they stop to watch. The movie is a microcosm of the emotional reach of the entire collection, called “Behind the Screen,” at this somewhat out of the way museum in Astoria, Queens. There are old projectors, cameras, TV sets and zoetropes. There are also costumes, masks and makeup, set displays, iconic photos and promotional tie-ins. There are interactive exhibits that let you dub music over a famous scene or your own voice over dialogue in the movie Babe or create a stop-motion movie that you can email to yourself. The sculpture below, called “Feral Fount,” advances historic zoetrope principles, morphing into a mind-melting scene when lit with a strobe. All in all, a reminder of the genius of the medium.

3. The Off-Broadway play Murder for Two: I knew nothing about this musical-ish comedy before the curtain rose, which in a way, was a good thing. There’s a gimmick, but it’s oh-so-clever. The plot revolves around the murder of a famous author, a cast of 12 suspects, and a police officer investigating the case. The catch? There are only two people in the cast; one playing the cop, the other playing ALL 12 SUSPECTS.  Jeff Blumenkrantz (who just left the show and has been replaced with an equally amazing actor, I’m sure) is incredible as a clingy psychologist, a regal ballerina, a valley girl-esque grad student, and many other distinct personalities. His face is cartoonishly expressive, and his mannerisms and vocal fluctuations make each character seem distinct. The screenplay is farcical and over-the-top, but also smart and with a macabre wit that’s often laugh-out-loud funny. Just another reason to love the thee-ay-tah!

photo 2-1

4. The Jungle Bird cocktail: One school of thought maintains that if it’s cold out, you want a cocktail that’s warming, soothing and comforting–an Irish Coffee, for example. But I often prefer the other school, the one that suggests the best cure for the winter blues is an escape to the tropics. One of my favorite tropical cocktails, the Jungle Bird, features a refreshing combination of dark rum (Cruzan Black Strap is preferred, though I only had Gosling), Campari, simple syrup, lime juice and pineapple juice, shaken and strained into a tumbler glass. Drink it and pretend like it’s not as cold outside as  it is inside your freezer.

photo 2

5. Softcover photo books from Artifact Uprising: About a year and a half ago, when I was working on my wedding album, it dawned on me that I hadn’t printed real, physical photos in over a decade. My most recent albums were from college–early college, back in the early aughts. I’m a naturally nostalgic person, and I realized I missed flipping through an album and just remembering. Clicking through old Facebook pictures didn’t really compare. Enter Artifact Uprising, a modern, environmentally conscious (everything is printed on recycled paper) and affordable photo book site. Since I discovered Artifact Uprising, I’ve been on an album binge, creating mementos not just of our vacations but, maybe more importantly, of my husband’s and my life together here in NYC.

photo 1-1

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

